Home >

View Competition

2021 Award Nominations

Open: Monday, July 6, 2020 12:00:00 AM - Friday, August 7, 2020 11:59:00 PM


Call for Nominations for ASAM’s 2021 Conference Awards

The ASAM Nominations and Awards Council seeks nominations for the 2021 Annual Conference Awards. The submission deadline for all awards is August 7, 2020 To be eligible for consideration, all nominations must be submitted electronically via the ASAM Online Portal on or before the deadline. Listings of past awardees can be found on the ASAM Awards webpage.

Those submitting nominations should clearly identify the award for which the nomination is submitted. Specific nominating criteria for each award is described below. Note that supporting materials may include curriculum vitae, letters of support from other ASAM members familiar with the nominee’s work, sample publications, and additional information on the nominee’s accomplishments.

You must complete a separate nomination form for each nominee and/or award.

The John P. McGovern Award on Addiction and Society

Established in 1997 to recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions to public policy, treatment, research, or prevention which has increased the understanding of the relationship of addiction and society. The Award is sponsored by an endowment from the John P. McGovern Foundation.

ASAM Annual Award

For outstanding contributions to the growth and vitality of ASAM, for thoughtful leadership in the field, and for deep understanding of the art and science of Addiction Medicine." and "for expanding the frontiers of the field of Addiction Medicine and broadening the understanding of the addictive process, through research and innovation."

Media Award

For excellence in print or electronic journalism. This Award is bestowed for a newspaper, magazine, television, radio or website story, column, or program that improves the public's understanding of addiction, addiction treatment, recovery, or the profession of addiction medicine.

Public Policy Award

 Presented each year to the elected official (federal, state, local) who has effectively advanced public policies that promote the health of Americans, especially persons with addictions; addiction medicine physicians; the education of physicians and medical trainees regarding substance use and addiction; or recognition of the practice of addiction medicine.

ASAM Training Directors Award

Presented each year to a current ACAAM or ACGME accredited addiction medicine program Training Director who has demonstrated outstanding training in the evaluation, treatment, research and teaching of substance use disorders.

All ASAM awards will be conferred at the ASAM 52nd Annual Conference in Dallas, TX April 22-25, 2021.

Competition Tasks

Association Management Software by MemberSuite
   Core Version: